With Snapchat being so popular with young people in particular (along with Instagram), the release of Snap Maps is another aspect that we need to make sure young people know exists and as it arrives as part of the latest app update. The reason we need to alert them is that it comes turned on by default.
This excellent blog article from our colleagues at The Safer Internet Centre is a really good summary of the feature and explains how to change the settings to make it more controllable by using one of the three different modes which is most appropriate to the user;
- Ghost Mode
Ghost Mode means that you are the only person who can see your location on the map.
Within Ghost Mode you can still see the locations of your friends but they will be unable to see you. This setting will ensure that you have complete control over who knows your location.
- My Friends
My Friends means that all of your contacts on Snapchat can see your location. If turning on this setting then it would be important for users to review their Snapchat contacts and also make sure that they never add someone they dont know in person onto Snapchat.
- Select Friends
This setting allows users to look through their friend list and then decide which of their friends they want to be able to view their location. This setting gives users the opportunity to control who can view their location.
Importantly they need to recognise the potential risks around the use geo-location if they are to make the correct, considered choice and not rush into making the wrong one, being able to apply this to other apps and online tools that they use.
To find out more, visit the Safer Internet Centre blog article by clicking on this link