Blocking people on line is a tool that many people use if they are subject to bullying, abuse or spam but there are many other reasons to block people online. Depending on the platform you’re using, different things happen, but the general rule is that it stops that user from communicating with you.
But when you hit that block button on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or WhatsApp, it doesn’t necessarily mean you are totally hidden from them. BBC Newsbeat have an interesting article on what can still be seen even if you do block people. To find out more on this follow this link.